Hawks Alumni Are National Champs

Underclassmen Play Key Roles in Title Game Victory

Freshman Brock Boeser and sophomore Cameron Johnson led the University of North Dakota to the 2015/16 NCAA Men’s Hockey National Championship on Saturday during a 5-1 win over the Quinnipiac Bobcats.

The duo, in addition to freshman Hayden Shaw who was out of the lineup Saturday, were each in Waterloo within the past two seasons.

Johnson was in net and made 32 saves.  The victory was his 24th of the season, representing more than two-thirds of North Dakota’s wins.  The sophomore minded the net for all four of the program’s NCAA Tournament victories.

Boeser was involved in almost all of the offense Saturday.  He scored the goal which proved to be the game-winner – unassisted and shorthanded – setting up three other NoDak tallied during the affair.  The effort helped to push his point total to 60 in just 42 games.

Boeser, Johnson, and Shaw join former Hawks Jason Blake and Ryan Hale who went on from Waterloo to win NCAA titles while at school in Grand Forks.  They are now part of a larger group of 20 junior-era Black Hawks who have claimed a Division I college championship.

Leave a Comment