Hawks Among USHL Honorees

Four Win League Recognition

Four Waterloo Black Hawks players were selected by United States Hockey League coaches and general managers for recognition on the circuit’s roster of top talent.

The All-USHL Teams were announced on Thursday.  Veterans Nick Swaney and Mikey Anderson have been acclaimed with places on the All-USHL Second Team.  Shane Bowers and Robbie Beydoun claimed Third Team status.

Playing his second full season in Waterloo, Swaney contributed 51 points – including 26 goals – tying for the team scoring lead this winter.  He was also the Hawks’ top scorer in 2015/16.  With 115 career points in USHL regular season play, Swaney ranks among the top 20 scorers during Waterloo’s junior era.  His 66 goals stand fifth for the club.

Anderson was a steadying influence from the blue line.  Simultaneously one of the younger players on the squad yet one of the most experienced, he tied for second league-wide with a +29 plus/minus differential.  Anderson ranked fifth in scoring among USHL defensemen with 34 points (five goals, 29 assists).  Last spring, he was honored as a member of the USHL All-Rookie Second Team.

Another All-Rookie choice in 2015/16, Bowers showed durability this season in addition to offensive finesse.  He was the only member of the Black Hawks to appear in every regular season game.  Tying Swaney’s total of 51 points, Bowers also equaled Anderson’s 29 assists for a team high.  Earlier this week, he was ranked 16th among North American skaters who are prospects for the 2017 NHL Draft.

Beydoun came to Waterloo this year after spending two seasons with the Fargo Force.  With 37 Black Hawks starts, he exceeded his total from his entire time in Fargo and posted a 24-9-4 record.  His goals-against average and save percentage each ranked among the USHL’s top five.  Beydoun also came through in clutch situations; eight of his 24 wins were earned in overtimes or shootouts.

All four players have made college commitments: Swaney and Anderson to the University of Minnesota-Duluth, Bowers to Boston University, and Beydoun to Michigan Tech.

Last season, Sam McCormick was the only Black Hawk named to the All-USHL teams.

The Hawks begin a best-of-five playoff series on Friday against the Fargo Force.  The first 500 fans in attendance will receive a light-up Black Hawks cheer stick, presented by Community Motors and a Black Hawks playoff poster.  Tickets for the 7:05 p.m. contest are available now from waterlooblackhawks.com or by calling the Domino’s Black Hawks Box Office at (319) 291-7680.

Leave a Comment